The Kinky Jane

One day, I happened to relax on my couch at home, after a tiring day at work. As usually, I browsed through the channels, looking for something interesting I could engage my mind with. Being me, criminal investigation stories have rarely failed to entertain – well, except for CSI, which has been repeated over and over again on my home cable TV.

It was on Fox or Fox Crime, I noticed a scene where a family, husband and wife, and their son, was having a press conference on their missing daughter, outside their house. “I’ve never seen this show,” I thought. So, I decided to take some time to find out if it could amuse me in some ways.

Patrick Jane, an unorthodox consultant of the California Bureau of Investigation

A peculiar looking, well-suited man, definitely not part of the family, walked away from the crowd heading towards the house. Confident in his action, he went into the kitchen, started boiling water, opened the cupboard one by one, found bags of tea, and prepared a cup – which he then drank his tea while sitting without guilt enjoying the garden scenery outside the window. “What, is he nuts?! That wasn’t even his house!” I was even more puzzled.

A woman, who is the wife of the man speaking to the press outside, came into the house and straight to the kitchen. To her surprise, noticing a man she didn’t know sipping a cup of tea in her kitchen, she was furious, “Who are you? What do you want?”

Patrick Jane he was, a consultant to the CBI – which stands the “California Bureau of Investigation”, introducing himself to the lady. Up to this point, I was already intrigued by the uniqueness of the main protagonist. I wasn’t expecting more, but there was more craziness to him than meets the eyes.

Without scrunitising his thoughts based on some degree of civility or appropriateness, he began to bluntly express what he thought about the relationship between the lady and her husband, how she didn’t like his decisions at many occasions, how she had been forced to look as amicable as possible despite her strong suspicion that the disappearance of their daughter might have something to do with her husband.

Unable to contain her emotion, the lady confronted her husband upon his entry to the house. Literally “fired up”, she was holding a loaded gun pointed at her husband, forcing him to confess on what he might have done. Unswerving by her prejudice, she lost control and shot her husband.

A CBI agent, Teresa Lisbon, rushed in, found Jane in the middle of this chaos and suspected, “Did you have anything to do with this?”  Playfully, showing a witty smile, Jane denied, “I had nothing to do with it,” and he scuttled outside.

“This is unconventional!” I thought. I wanted to continue watching the show but my son already begged me to play with him. Therefore, I asked my husband to help me download all the series, from Season 1 to 4, because I was there and then charmed by the kinky Patrick Jane.

Leave a Reply

